Pan-Roasted Eggplant Dosa (My JFI Redemption)

Finally recovered from vacation travel, I wanted to redeem myself for my hurried JFI-Flour entry.
Dosa was on my mind. With no time for soaking, grinding, and fermenting a batter, I went cruising for a quick version. Krithika’s Wheat Dosa looked crisp and delicious!

Then I looked in the veggie drawer; a few things remained from pre-vacation shopping and one was eggplant. With Vineela’s magic eggplant masala in the freezer, I decided to experiment. I used Krithika’s recipe as a guide.

eggplant and garlic
diced eggplant, crushed garlic, green chile and magic masala powder

Pan-Roasted Eggplant and Garlic Dosa

2 c diced eggplant (I used long asian variety)
4-5 big cloves garlic
1 green chile, slit
2 heaping TB Vineela’s Magic Eggplant Masala Powder
1 tsp oil or ghee
2 TB water

1 c atta
1 c rice flour
1 tsp cumin seeds (optional)
3-4 c water
salt to taste

Soak diced eggplant in salted water if you fear bitterness (my eggplant was somewhat old, so I did this – I would not think it necessary for fresh). Be sure to drain before cooking.

To peel and crush garlic in one easy step, whack each clove lightly on a cutting board with the broad side of a large knife or cleaver. Remove peels and set aside.

In saute pan, heat oil or ghee over medium-high heat. When hot, add drained eggplant and saute 4-5 minutes, until it begins to take on some color. Reduce heat to medium and add crushed garlic and chile. Saute another 4-5 minutes, add magic masala powder and stir well to coat veggies. Add 2 TB water and mix. Reduce heat to med-low, cover and cook 5-10 minutes or until veggies are soft and well seasoned. Remove to a plate and allow to cool. When cool, puree in food processor or blender with one cup of warm water. This should make a smooth puree.

roasted eggplant and garlic
pan-roasted eggplant and garlic with spices

In large mixing bowl, combine atta and rice flour. Add veggie puree and sufficient water, 3-4 cups, to make a thin, smooth batter. Stir in cumin seeds if using. Salt can be added here but be sure to go lightly if you salted the eggplant. I let this batter rest 30 minutes.

eggplant-garlic puree
adding veggie puree to flours

~~

dosa batter
finished dosa batter

To cook, I followed Krithika’s excellent instructions. Lacking a dedicated dosa pan, I used my tavva and greased it slightly with oiled paper towel. I must say the results were awful ;).

disaster dosa on tavva
dosa disaster on my tavva

Not one to admit defeat, I switched to a nonstick frying pan. This time the dosas came out wonderfully brown and lacy. Hooray!

Thanks, Krithika, for an inspiring recipe, and Vineela, for the yummy magic masala.

crispy pan-roasted eggplant dosas
at last! crispy pan-roasted eggplant and garlic dosa with onion chutney and yogurt

6 Comments »

  1. Archana said

    Wow,Wow,Wow, i am impressed, i truly am !!!!
    Welcome back Linda.

    Thank you, Archana ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Krithika said

    You added vege puree to dosa batter ? That’s an excellent idea. Your dosas look great. I am so glad the dosa recipe worked for you.

    Thanks Krithika — it’s a great and easy recipe you shared ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. RP said

    Wow! Never thought about that! Sounds yummy!

    Thank you, RP!

  4. Welcome back linda. such a nice idea to add the veg puree to dosa mix, healthy ,tasty …Thanks for sharing…

    Thank you Sudah – eggplant is one of my favorites ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Arjuna said

    Eggplant dosa.. wow thats a great idea! Dosa looks absolutely delicious Linda!

    Thanks Arjuna, I was pleasantly surprised by the results ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. vila said

    Hallo!!

    I’ve found your blog trhougth this gorgeous pic of your dosas.

    All the pic look great! I love them. Soon I’ll explore the recipies.

    I have a blog in Italian about ayurvedic cooking (incucinaconvila.blogspot.com). I copied your pic, and showed the link. If you want you can have a look.
    May I continue to use your pic in the future?

    Vila

    Hi Vila, thank you for the kind words. Of course you may use the photo if it’s linked back to my recipe, thanks for asking ๐Ÿ™‚ Here is the link you will need: https://outofthegarden.wordpress.com/2006/08/13/pan-roasted-eggplant-dosa-my-jfi-redemption/

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment