Archive for August 3, 2006

Homeward Bound

UP of Michigan
Michigan UP map adapted from Info Please

It’s vacation time again!! Back to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.

The UP is the place for fabulous geological formations, sunrises and sunsets, wide open spaces on Lake Superior, agate hunting, wildlife watching, and yes,
great food.

This is not my first trip to the UP, but it is the first time I head north hoping to capture, on camera, some of the essence of the cooking of my home state. To me, the greatest food is not gourmet food from a fancy restaurant. The greatest food is local, fresh, and unfailingly home cooked.

little diner in Trenary, MI
hummingbirds dine outside a little diner in Trenary, MI

I’m craving home cooking, but more than that I am craving home. It occured to me as I sat down to write just now, (this has been a post-in-the-making all evening as I’ve had a moment here and there) that the craving for home is a common force here in this wonderful blogging community. We try to carve out a ‘home’ wherever we are. That craving, perhaps more aptly described as “longing”, manifests itself in the beautiful stories that go along with the recipes. I share that craving, that longing, and I feel fortunate to have landed here.

I wish you all a week to remember… full of good food shared with family and friends, wherever home may be.

UP Sunrise
sunrise over Whitefish Bay, Lake Superior, Michigan

Comments (7)