Aloo Palak

aloo palak
aloo palak

This morning I came across two boxes of frozen spinach – I must have picked them up during the “scare”. I also happened to have some tiny baby potatoes from a surprising sale at the grocery store. Although I love palak paneer, I had never made aloo palak. I browsed around a bit and came up with this recipe, another sort of amalgamation of several I saw. It seems a little odd now, with the raw onion puree. At 5am I saw that in the fridge and decided to take the lazy road. I don’t think the dish suffered.

Big thanks to Trupti, Vini K, and Mika for ideas and inspiration from their great recipes.

Aloo Palak
makes a big healthy meal for 3 or 4 people

2 10 oz boxes frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained well

10 oz baby potatoes (about 15-20)

1/2 tsp canola oil
1 c chopped onion
1 big green chile, slit (or 3-4 smaller chiles)
1 TB garlic paste
1 TB ginger paste

1/2 c raw onion, pureed
1/2 c canned tomatoes or 1 small fresh tomato, peeled and chopped

1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp chili powder

1/2 c yogurt
1 TB besan

1 tsp garam masala

~~~

1. Defrost the spinach and sqeeze dry. Set aside.

2. Cook potatoes about 5-6 minutes in boiling water. I like my potatoes firm — for softer potatoes, cook 5 minutes longer. Drain and set aside.

3. Heat oil in large saucepan and add green chile. When very hot, add chopped onion, reduce heat, and cook until well browned.

4. Move browned onion to one side of the pan and add garlic, ginger, and raw onion puree. Saute this until it begins to brown, then add tomatoes, salt, turmeric and chili powder. Mix in the browned onion and cook 5-10 minutes.

5. Add spinach and 1/2 c water. Mix everything well, cover, and cook about 15 minutes. Stir once or twice and add a little more water if necessary. Remove from heat after 15 min.

6. Blend spinach mixture in a food processor, adding 1/2 c water if necessary (I did not let this cool much before blending, and it seemed fine).

7. Return spinach puree to the saucepan over med-low heat. Add water to reach a consistency a little thinner than you want in the end (I used about 1c). Meanwhile, mix yogurt with a little water, and add the besan. Stir it up until smooth, then combine with the hot spinach puree. Raise the heat a little and cook about 10-15 minutes. It should thicken up nicely.

8. Reduce heat to low and add reserved potatoes and garam masala. Stir gently to warm through, about 5-10 minutes.

This tasted equally good warm or at room temperature. A new favorite!

aloo palak on beaded block plate
aloo palak on a beaded block plate from the late 1920s

13 Comments »

  1. indosungod said

    Linda, Palak Aloo looks wonderful, must make a great side dish for roti.

    Thanks, ISG… I’m sure I should try with roti, you’re right. I ate it plain this time, too lazy… πŸ™‚

  2. Krithika said

    Looks delicious !

    Thank you, Krithika πŸ™‚

  3. Asha said

    YUMMY!!!!!Goes very well with some flaky parathas, Linda!

    Have fun:))

    Haha, Asha, you’re just trying to fatten me up with your yummy parathas! πŸ˜‰ Thanks!

  4. Lavanya said

    Looks delicious!!!

    Hi Lavanya, and thanks! Just left you a note in your blog — ginger brittle looks yummy πŸ™‚

  5. shilpa said

    Wow..that looks delicious. At 5Am you get up and think about cooking??? Thats just awesome….

    Hi Shilpa, and thank you! I wish I could say I always think about cooking at 5 am… when I get up early though, I like to make lunch before work πŸ™‚

  6. Mythili said

    The beaded plate is soooooo beautiful !! I likey !!

    Cheers,
    Mythili

    Thank you, Mythili. I love depression glass πŸ™‚ Hope you had a nice Thanksgiving!

  7. lera said

    Linda, you always make it look so lovely ! now I am craving to have this.

    Aw, thanks Lera — your nice comments always make me feel so good! I’ll send a plate straight over πŸ˜‰

  8. ash said

    I am a lurker here. A flaw in your recipe tempted me to comment – it is the 5:00AM part!
    You are indeed a great mom and wife to cook for your family at that hour. Bless you for doing that. As usual, I love your enthusiasm and the beautiful glassware in which you present the dish. I haven’t eaten Aloo Palak in years. I am tempted to make some now – but at a normal hour of the day! Good luck with your cooking adventures.

    Hi Ash, I’m glad you came out of lurking. Thanks for all your kind words. I wish I could say I am always up slaving away at 5 am, but only some days. I think the rest of the family sometimes wonders about my “cooking adventures”, but I have friends who enjoy it πŸ™‚ Would love to know your recipe for aloo palak! Thanks again.

  9. Vini K said

    Hey Linda,thanks dear.Your aloo palak looks nice.

    Thank you, Vini!

  10. Padmini said

    I tried this recipe and it turned out so well….Thanks!

    Hi Padmini — I’m so happy you enjoyed it! πŸ™‚

  11. Barbara said

    Oh my gosh! This is so good! This is my first try at Aloo Palak and it is so delish. I’m bringing some to my Indian co-worker to get her opinion. Thank you so much for your blog and all the wonderful recipes. I am truly inspired.

    Thanks so much for stopping by Barbara, and for your kind words. Happy you are enjoying tasty Indian food, my fave! πŸ˜‰

  12. Hellopalz said

    I’ve been checking out ur recipe to make aloo palak coz i wanna finish the bag of spinach n i dont have paneer at home. I’m gonna make it for dinner and will let u know how it turns out. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    I hope you enjoy it! Thanks for stopping — I passed by your blog and saw some of your lovely artwork! πŸ™‚

  13. kirthi said

    I tried this recpe now,it came out so good.Thanks.

    Hi Kirthi and thank you! I’m so happy you liked it πŸ™‚

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

