Vegetarian Eggs?

an oxymoron?
hmm… an oxymoron, redundancy, or irrelevant? (click on photo to enlarge)

Is there such a thing as a “vegetarian egg”? The package states “all natural vegetarian grain”. Who ever heard of a grain that was not “vegetarian”? If the chickens are cage-free (the package does not state one way or the other), what’s to stop them from brunching on the occasional passing insect some breezy, sunny Sunday morning? If the chickens are not free-range, perhaps “vegetarian” means they live in sterile little cages where no insect dares to venture 😦

I felt kind of badly after I realised this — as if I had fallen for a marketing ploy. I can only console myself with the fact that I picked up the eggs in a hurry because they were on sale, rather than for the “vegetarian” designation. I noticed that when I got home, and I find it a curious question indeed.

Either way, another time I believe I will pay the extra twenty cents for different eggs.

9 Comments »

  1. Vee said

    Vegetarian or eggatarian??? πŸ™‚
    Thats priceless! will somebody please explain to me the defination of eggs according to these people ‘cos it sure ain’t the same as the way I define it!

    Eggatarian — now *that* is priceless Vee! And the rest, well, that’s kind of how I felt too πŸ™‚

  2. Ashwini said

    Unfortunately I see a lot of such products in super markets that are more often than not only a marketing ploy.

    My kids knew the phrase “marketing ploy” very early in life, so I was mad at myself for not looking more carefully.

  3. Ashwini said

    Linda I am so glad you tried and liked goad bhaat. Your thanksgiving dinner looks so gorgeous I wish I was invited over πŸ™‚
    I spent several minutes looking at your Nana’s serveware. I love having stuff that is generations old and has so much history behind it. It must mean so much to you.
    I actually lugged a couple of my mom’s classic, old pots all the way from India the last time!

    I love the old family things for the history, too Ashwini. I bet your mom’s classic pots were worth lugging for the same reason and more. I know I feel so fortunate to have these family heirlooms. Your goad bhaat was just scrumptious on Thanksgiving, Ashwini… and you have an open invite anytime πŸ™‚

  4. Asha said

    That is hilarious,Linda!

    I know some very “strict” vegetarian Indians eat eggs and then they say” it’s okay, because eggs are vegetarian!” HUH!!! Don’t they realize eggs are the future chickens if you leave them alone:D:D

    Vegetarian eggs sounds little creepy.First it’s “organic” , now it’s Vegetarian?! Very strange. What next?)

    I got a kick out of it too Asha, after I got through kicking myself! πŸ˜‰ It does seem we get a little carried away with all this labeling. Last fall when I was in Michigan I got some real farm-fresh eggs. They were sold loose, for 25 cents each. I bet those were about as ‘natural’ as eggs get, no labels! πŸ™‚

  5. indosungod said

    Linda, I did not know of any Vegeterians Chickens!!! before either, pretty funny if you ignore the fact that slick marketing can even sell beef as vegeterian if you are gullible enough to fall for it. I look for Cage Free on the carton, but here on I will pay more attention.

  6. J said

    Remember that only *fertilized* eggs can become chickens. The other ones… if they aren’t eaten…only become extremely foul smelling. Hmm…now I’m hungry for a omelet!

    -John

  7. Vidya said

    I guess they ment to say Chicken who laid the egg is Vegetarian and so is the egg, but not the consumers!!!…LOL!!!

  8. Caela said

    Vegetarian fed means that no animal products (like dead chickens) was mixed into the feed. It is standard practice for commercial egg producers to feed their caged hens a mixture that is composed of animal products. Also, free-range chickens eating bugs is not considered non-vegetarian. Bugs aren’t animals.

  9. Are any eggs allowedl?
    Chicken/birds eggs, Fish eggs, Platypus eggs, Echidna eggs, where do we draw the line?
    Living a vegetarian Lifestyle?
    Some great Vegie Recipes available to complement your tips here:
    http://vegatarian-lifestyle.blogspot.com/

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

