Old Fashioned Strawberry Shortcake

I love cookbooks. To say I collect cookbooks would be inadequate ~ I covet and adore them. I prefer old books with a bit of history, preferably with stories to go along with the recipes. One of my favorites, handed down to me by my grandmother, is Della Lutes’ The Country Kitchen (just found out this book has been reprinted by Wayne State University Press). This book is really the story of life on a Michigan farm in the late 1800’s, with a few recipes thrown in. I have wanted to try one for a long time: Old Fashioned Strawberry Shortcake.

Perfect for Jihva For Strawberries, held this month over at Baking Fairy’s site.

~~~

Strawberry Shortcake Ingredients

Ingredients for Old Fashioned Strawberry Shortcake: fresh strawberries, flour, baking soda and salt sifted together, real butter and thick sour cream.

~~~

Old Fashioned Strawberry Shortcake

2c all purpose flour, preferably unbleached

sifted with

1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda

4 TB real butter
1c rich, thick sour cream (I didn’t have a whole cup, so made up the difference with yogurt)

1-2 quarts fresh, ripe strawberries
sugar/Splenda as needed to sprinkle over berries

More butter for the hot shortbread
Powdered sugar for sprinkling

Fresh sweet cream for serving, if desired

~~~

Wash and top fresh strawberries. Slice thinly into shallow bowl, and sprinkle with sugar/splenda (I used mostly splenda because my daughter is insulin-dependent diabetic). Allow to rest for 30 min or until sugar draws out juices from strawberries.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Have softened butter in a large bowl. Make a rich dough by sifting flour, salt and soda together into butter bowl. Use a fork or pastry blender to combine with butter. The mixture should look like large flakes with some extra flour on sides/bottom of bowl. Add sour cream/yogurt and mix again, gently. When dough begins to moisten and form a rough ball, remove to floured board/counter and knead gently ~ just enough to incorporate any loose mixture. Pat out into round to fit a greased (I used PAM spray) round cake pan ~ this need not fill the pan to the sides.

~~~

Ready For The Oven

Shortcake Ready For Baking

~~~

Bake in preheated oven 15-20 minutes, until golden on top and hollow-sounding when tapped. Remove from oven and let cool in pan 5-10 minutes.

When cool enough to handle, slice shortcake into top/bottom halves. Butter each half “fulsomely” as Della Lutes describes. Place bottom half on a large plate, and spoon sliced strawberries over. Cover with top half and sift powdered sugar over all.

Serve at once with fresh sweet cream on the side, if desired.

8 Comments »

  1. Indira said

    Strawberry shortbread looks mouthwatering, Linda. I am glad that you have increased the photo size (from the tiny size before), beautiful.

    Shortbread was on my list of tries for this event, but in the end I went with scones.:)

  2. Thanks Indira, I’m so glad Priya showed me what to do about the photos. Your Strawberry Jihva scones and pops look excellent. What a fun event you started πŸ™‚

  3. vineela said

    Hi Linda,
    Nice template .I like this shortcake.Yummy
    Baking list is growing day by day.
    Thanks for the recipe.
    Vineela

  4. shankari said

    This looks really tasty, I am craving for it now

  5. lucette said

    A positively inspiring photo!
    I love old cookbooks too–I have a collection of about 30 vintage cookbooks, the oldest from the 1920s. I’ll have to keep my eye out for this one.

  6. Mythili said

    This is an interesting recipe with strawberries. I have never experimented with SB and I guess it is about time. JFI has opened the gateway for a strawberry land attracting people like me galore. Thanks for dropping by “Vindhu”. You are invited to Mistress of Spices too. Please feel free to participate πŸ™‚

  7. Hi Vineela, and thank you – I saw you have similar colors on your blog. πŸ™‚
    They are spring-like, aren’t they?

    Thank you Shankari, it’s easy to make, give a try sometime πŸ™‚

    Lucette, thank you – the book is easy to find on eBay etc… I am going to check out your blog and see if your collection is there πŸ™‚

    Mythili, thank you for visiting and for the kind invitation – I would love to participate in Mistress of Spices but am afraid I’ll never make June 4 – next time I hope! πŸ™‚

  8. Stephanie said

    Thank you so much for your Della Lutes strawberry short cake recipe. My husband and I pastor a church in the small town in Michigan where Della grew up. This July 7th Sunday we will be having a pig roast, kids chalk art contest, pie auction, and a Della Lutes cooking contest! All entries have to be made from one of her recipes in her books. The first prize is a coveted red and white gingham apron embroidered with Della Lutes (the year) cooking contest on the bib of it. I have made her chicken and dumplings recipe, and I wanted to also enter a dessert (strawberry shortcake), but I couldn’t find my recipe book. I did a google search and yours came up…thank you so much for your post, you saved me! Wish me luck tomorrow! Last year my raspberry dessert came in second. πŸ™‚

    Hello Stephanie! What a treat to see your comment on this very old post of mine… since this I have found several more Della Lutes books, but Country Kitchen remains my favorite. Please do let me know how this all turned out!!

    Best wishes from the northern lower πŸ™‚

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment