When There’s No Getting Over That Rainbow…

When there’s no getting over that rainbow
when my smallest of dreams won’t come true…

I can take all the madness the world has to give
but I won’t last a day without you… ”

~~ Paul Williams

listen here

rainbow
rainbow outside my front door ~ after a storm late this afternoon…

I am sure I’m not the first person to write an entire post (that I really *liked*),
only to find that somehow, it disappeared into the ether.
Well, that’s where I am now! So while this may not be my best effort, it’s my best attempt at recall, an hour after the fact πŸ˜‰

save draft, save draft

~~~~~~~~~~

It’s been a wild ride since Dad’s surgery in March — on through May and June, both kids graduating, and many life changes on the near horizon.

This new job (was it only two years ago I took it??) keeps me too busy during the week. I miss blogging and blog-hopping on a regular basis.

Sometimes I feel if I’m not here regularly, I shouldn’t be here at all. Still, I am always drawn back. It’s an addiction, but a good one πŸ˜‰

On the internet, when a person goes MIA, it’s easy to think they’ve lost interest or don’t care. Rest assured, I haven’t, and I do!

So……hi, how are y’all πŸ˜‰

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Come Fourth of July, I always make salmon chowder.

This year, for one reason or twelve, I wasn’t able to do so. I’ve been craving salmon ever since. Now I am inundated, happily I might add, with fresh brinjals — planted in almost every pot I had a tomato plant last year. After the blight I couldn’t bear to see the garden shrivel up — but you can always count on Ichiban eggplant!

Today I found myself staring at a nice fresh fillet of salmon,
and a bowl full of freshly picked brinjal.

ichiban eggplant/brinjal
ichiban eggplants ~ long purple asian-type brinjal

I decided the time was long past for plain old same old salmon chowder.

I wanted something different.

I had no coconut milk in the house, and no inclination to make it from frozen coconut, so I couldn’t have S’s lovely fish molee.

Knowing dear ISG is a salmon-lover like me, I knew I would find just the right dish in the archives over at Daily Musings. I basically made her very recipe (ok, ok, nothing new here…).

The only difference is, I omitted coconut, and added brinjal and a potato, for good July 4th measure. I don’t know if it’s still Kongu Naatu style, but it was certainly delicious!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Salmon and Brinjal Kulambu with Potato
recipe adapted from IGS’s Fish Kulambu

Dice one or two long, purple asian-type brinjals (like Ichiban). Pan-roast them in a drop of oil or some Pam spray, over med-high heat. When browned, add the tamarind water and one potato, diced. Leave the skin on if you want extra fiber (and that rustic touch!). Reduce heat to med-low, cover and cook until the potato is nearly done. Turn off the heat and reserve.

Meanwhile, follow ISG’s recipe. Heat oil in a large pan, add seasonings and then onion, garlic and tomato. When the tomato has cooked down, add the reserved brinjal-potato-tamarind mixture and enough water.

Since I prefer my fish to the left of cooked, here’s what I did for barely-done salmon:

When the kulambu is cooked to your taste, bring to a rolling boil. Add the fish cubes, stir once, cover, and remove from the heat.

The fish will be perfectly done in about five minutes.

tasty salmon kulambu
tasty salmon, brinjal and potato kulambu… courtesy ISG and her mom!

ISG, thanks to you and your dear mom for the perfect salmon recipe to chase away my cravings! All the best tmo! πŸ™‚

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

guess
any guess as to what this is? it’s been growing, with a few friends just like itself,
all summer in the new herb garden, but I did not plant it…

dream summer
since 2003, dear m has gone to a camp for girls with diabetes… this summer, she is giving back… she is the counselor holding onto this little gal… could I be a prouder mom?? πŸ™‚

4 Comments »

  1. BongMom said

    So proud of M, she is a such a lovely girl

    Linda, I am totally J of your eggplants. The fish curry is awesome, oh how nice it must have tasted with those eggplants

    Everything is better with eggplant, right Sandeepa! πŸ™‚ Thanks for your kind comments, nice to see you!

  2. mm said

    Life gets in the way sometimes…always a highpoint to read your posts and to read over your innovative recipes. Post when you can……they are always appreciated here. mm

    Thanks for stopping, mm — always good to see you around πŸ™‚

  3. Leila said

    Linda, guess it’s a greenchilli plant. your fish curry looks so tempting!

    I wish it were a green chili plant, Leila! If it is, there are no blossoms yet… thanks for your nice comment πŸ™‚

  4. Hi Linda,

    How are you? Long time no see!!! Well, I was on a break from blogging too..

    Brinjal plant looks like its got all the proper attention!! I am sure it would have been an awesome kuzhambu with ISG’s recipes.. Not much of a garden this time from my home.

    Kudos to M!

    Hi there S, always glad to see you! It’s been awhile since I could come around regularly, maybe in the fall when things are more settled. Thanks for stopping and do try ISG’s recipe when you get some brinjal πŸ™‚

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

