My Favorite Indian Pickle ~ Ever

mango pickle, and I mean *mango* pickle!
bedekar mango pickle in a jar ~ my very favorite!

I’ve been off work for a few days over the holiday weekend, so I’ve had lots of time to catch up on housework, garden, and best of all, blogging.

Tomorrow it’s back to work. Along with the carrot lentil soup, I am taking rice and mmmm… a lip-smacking mango pickle.

For all my love of Indian cuisine, pickles were definitely an acquired taste.
I have tried many in jars. I even tried making my own — thank you dear Manisha
I hope you are well.

One happy day I stumbled upon this mango-packed jar and brought it home. What struck me, looking at it on the shelf, was the proportion of green to red.

I thought I would share this little pickle with you. I think it’s extraordinary.

I live outside Boston; there is a large Indian population here and there are many stores, but I have only seen this particular pickle in one rather obscure store, in one rather obscure suburb.

Has anyone else seen it? When I move, I may have to bring a case along πŸ˜‰

Unlike most jarred pickle I have encountered, it’s more pickle than masala, if you know what I mean.

It’s good and spicy, with all the flavors a pickle should have, but the heat is not so much that you can only take half a piece for a cup of rice. Every spice sings, but mango, firm yet tender and perfectly cured, takes the well-deserved lead.

I’ll let the pics do the rest of the talking… just check out all that MANGO πŸ™‚

chock full of mango and not much else!
freshly opened jar of pickle ~ mango mango and more mango!!

mango pickle and plain rice for workday lunch
with that pickle for lunch, I can’t ask for anything more!
(and notice how much pickle is left in that jar!)

9 Comments »

  1. Asha said

    They use lot of Bedekar pickle in UK because it’s milder than the other jarred pickles, I used to buy them a lot there. After tasting the Priya, Ruchi, Haldiram’s and AMother’s jarred pickles here in US Indian stores (Telugu people own it), I gave up on Bedekar! πŸ˜€

    Have you tried Pearl Onion pickle? Slurp!

    Nothing like eating yogurt rice and pickle for lunch, like we used do in our school days in India. My kids don’t like any pickles at all, but about 15 jars, all kinds, in my pantry, I love it. Mangoes in the jar looks yum! πŸ™‚

    These mangoes are huge pieces, Asha! I take one or two and cut them up. Milder flavor might be one of the reasons I like this best πŸ˜‰ I have some Priya gongura pickle I like pretty well.

    Will look for that pearl onion pickle too! For tmo, it’s more mango and this time, yes, curd rice πŸ˜‰

  2. BongMom said

    I liked Bedekars’ Lime and Chili pickle. For most time I buy Mother’s Recipes mixed vegetable pickle

    The sight of that lunch box is making me extremely hungry. Thanks for liking the Carrot Lentil soup.

    About your questions

    The poha was the thick one

    The Dabur brand mustard oil is good. If you don’t get it, let me know

    Oh, thanks for that Sandeepa! Will look for Dabur brand, as well as Bedekar’s lime. I’ve only seen the mango.

    Carrot-lentil soup is def. a keeper! πŸ™‚

  3. indosungod said

    Of course Linda, those pickles are delicious. I like 777 brand of pickles especially their tomato thokku and gongura pickles, I finish off a jar in a week.

    Yes curd rice or even plain rice and pickle can’t be beat by restaurant food or fast food πŸ™‚

    I remember you telling me about that 777 ISG — have not seen it yet but I keep looking! More rice, curd rice, tmo… eating down a big bag now that m is home from college. He’s my rice fiend, but can’t get him to glance at pickle πŸ˜‰

    • BongMom said

      Indo

      Is 777 a Tam thing ? Another Tam friend of mine likes it too. Strangely I didn’t see it at my grocer’s will dig depper next time

  4. shyam said

    Good to see you back in form, Linda πŸ™‚

    I don’t really like store-bought pickles, but I’ve found one recently that’s really good – Patak’s hot mango pickle. Absolutely scrummy! My husband sniffs longingly at the aroma whenever I open the bottle… but it’s wayyyyy too hot for him! πŸ™‚

    I love curd rice made with Greek yogurt thinned out a little with warm water, with no hint of sourness… ooh. Especially in the summer.

    Thanks Shammi, it’s nice to be back! If P can’t touch that mango pickle, I probably can’t either… maybe in a few years! πŸ˜‰

    I too love the Greek yogurt — Fage is the brand I use. I could eat that plain from the tub!

  5. Srivalli said

    Good to see you in form Linda..Nice to know you are fond of pickles..:)

    So nice to see you, Sri!! And yes, love love love those mango pickles! Hope you’re well! πŸ™‚

  6. david said

    man that looks good! ha ha

  7. Felly said

    Hi, I wonder if you could help me. I have exactly the same Bedekar mango pickles just like in your site here, however, I forgot to ask how to eat it with? Do you have any recepie for us how to cook or how to eat it with?

    Thanks
    Felly from Jakarta

    Hello Felly, I have them with plain rice mostly… they’re good with a little yogurt on the side too πŸ™‚

  8. Sabrina said

    I also live in near Boston and have been looking for a mango pickle with big pieces like this! Can you let me know what store this is from? Thank you!

    Hi Sabrina,

    I’m not living near Boston now, but if you’re on the North Shore you should have good luck in Burlington — there are several Indian groceries on rt. 3a (not far from the Burlington Mall). There is another small store in Woburn just off Main Street which carries the brand. I hope this helps!

    Best wishes,

    Linda

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

