What Happened To…

…. the lazy, hazy, crazy days of summer?


have a listen to Nat King Cole’s classic, set to pics courtesy of Snowqueen555.
The last sunset pic reminds me of Michigan,
so thanks, Snowqueen, whomever you may be!

Well it’s certainly crazy, but not hot and hazy — more like a June monsoon in my neck of the woods. If New England has seen five sunny days this month, I’ll eat my hat. Also not much time for lazy! The girl-child is off to drivers’ ed and then summer camp — while the boy-child is on break between classes and a summer internship. It seems once school lets out, life gets more hectic! I was, however, fortunate to enjoy a visit to my beloved upper peninsula over the past couple of months.

sandhillcranes_crop2
sandhill cranes ~ twenty miles north of nowhere and just south of Lake Superior

snowbuntings wfp
snow buntings playing at whitefish point

wfplightandpt
the lighthouse at whitefish point ~ with a laker far off on the horizon

paradiseagate4_09
lake superior agate

ryerson1_crop
dream boat ~ the Edward L. Ryerson ~ steaming downbound from the Soo

paradise409_a
a sunset in paradise…

And the garden, of course, takes much spare time in a most rewarding way!

As a very late birthday gift, I bought myself some organically grown heirloom tomato plants which arrived late in May, all the way from California (thanks, mom!).

In spite of the heavy rains and lack of sun, these tomatoes are taking off.

mariannaspeace1
marianna’s peace ~ heirloom ‘potato-leafed’ tomato ~ early June

mariannaspeace
… and late June

How does your garden grow?

Oh, and by the way… I’ve been cooking too, albeit mostly simple things of late.
I am hoping for some hot weather in July to get homemade dosa/idly batter going quickly! Tonight, it’s cool and rainy, so it’s this Udupi temple special from Ramya’s Mane Adige ~ a dish so delectable that it’s become a fast favorite. She made hers with brinjal; I also added pumpkin to mine in the form of sweet buttercup squash. So sweet in fact, that I didn’t add much jaggery. The squash was also a good thickener, so I didn’t use coconut. And of course, for seasoning, it was none other than ISG’s magical sambhar podi 🙂 No photos of that, as it’s still on the stove, but check out Ramya’s pic and you’ll be drooling, I promise. Thanks, Ramya!

3 Comments »

  1. Nupur said

    Yay…a new post from Linda!! You should move to St. Louis if you are looking for summer weather. We have an extra dose or two of summer to spare out here.
    As usual, you have taken me on a virtual vacation. The sandhill cranes look beautiful.
    How does my garden grow, you ask? It consists of one lone curry leaf plant at the moment 😀 because I gave away all my other plants before I went on a long vacation.

    Yay, a visit from my dear friend and inspiration, Nupur!! I am so happy to hear from you 🙂 I didn’t know you were back to the blog-world… now I must hurry to check out One Hot Stove today!

    Curry leaf plant — I ordered one from Seeds of India and repotted it per their instructions — it seemed to die. I replanted it yesterday as it was showing a tinge of new growth on its poor bare stem… maybe your gardening talent will rub off on me, Nupur 🙂

  2. mm said

    Good to have you back….

    thanks mm… always nice to see you! 🙂

  3. mallugirl said

    u have echoed my thots precisely!! so its monsoon there too. really, this yr, i am not missing my homeland so much as its raining much more here than there!!

    Hey hey, my neighbor, how’s by you? It’s going to rain again later tonight! At least I don’t have to worry about watering the containers 😉

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

