Food For the Soul ~ Kanji, Payar, and Kadachakka Thoran from Shn

I had a jar of breadfruit. Actually I’ve had it for a month. I can never resist a new food and when I saw it in a new store, I had to buy it. I looked for recipes, and I came across Shn’s wonderful post.

Things happen for a reason right? The breadfruit led me to kanji and payar — suddenly I felt it was well worth the wait πŸ™‚

hmmmmmm
hmmmmmm…

breadfruit
breadfruit!

kadachakka
kadachakka thoran ~ breadfruit dry curry ~ recipe from shn’s mishmash

mmhmmmm
mmhmmmm…payar… from mishmash ~ aka shn πŸ™‚

mhmmhmm
mhmmhmm…

rosematta-rice-gruel
kanji from dear shn

The photos are mine, but this outer-space-creature (haha, Sandeepa!) got the recipes from Shn at Mishmash! and the idea to put the kanji in a glass, as well as much insight, from Inji. Many thanks to you both! πŸ™‚

15 Comments »

  1. Happy Cook said

    well i will continue by saying hmmmmm …mhmmmm

  2. indosungod said

    Wondering what the first one is πŸ™‚ The dal (moth?) looks delicious.

  3. Asha said

    Another HMMM again! ;D

    Center one looks like Moth curry of some kind of course, last photo is just scary! Are you cloning yourself into million Lindas? Hahaha!!
    I am on Rasam diet today, whole day. So far, coffee and OJ, that’s it. Hope I will be alive tomorrow! ;D

  4. sandeepa said

    The second is a dal, what is the first your fav lotus root ? And the third is millions of UFO, you are in outer space with all that stuff πŸ˜‰

  5. Aparna said

    Ummmmmm………………………?

  6. Vani said

    Hmm.. things are getting curiouser and curiouser! πŸ™‚

  7. Vani said

    Loved the fritter platter from the previous post, btw. Perfect for cold winter days~

  8. Sia said

    ok, 3rd one seems like rosematta rice and 2nd one is definately dal. no idea as what 1st one could be!!!
    common girl, don’t tease us like this πŸ˜€

  9. Asha said

    Kanji! YUM!! I made it too, was so good with pickle and Moong stir fry.

    About the b’day cakes, I always baked for them 99% of the time before and this year, they both don’t want regular cakes but one wants Ice Cream Cake and other one wants 12″ Cookie cake. I was shocked to know how expensive they are! $30 dollars each for a cookie cake, IC cake with some icing on it? I would have bought some cookie dough and made it myself for under $10 at home! ;D

    But it’s her 18th, so we let them both have what they wanted. Trisha is taking 6 of her friends on Sunday to Long Horn steak house for lunch and then a “The Watchmen” movie, they don’t want to come home here “with us parents” but Tushar’s friends will be home on Saturday for 4hrs!!I will post photos next week! πŸ™‚

  10. Vani said

    I’ve never tried breadfruit before. The thoran looks fabulous, Linda! The dal looks great too. Am not a fan of kanji cos that’s what my mom would make for me when I was ill. So that’s what I tend to associate kanji with 😦

  11. Cynthia said

    That a great way to cook breadfruit. I must give it a try sometime.

  12. Thanks for playing along, girls! Cynthia, you would love the breadfruit curry — really delicious! Kanji was a soothing dish before bed — rather like warm milk but easier on the stomach. Sorry it made you remember being sick, Vani — that’s how I feel when I see ginger ale (my mom’s cure-all when I was a kid) πŸ˜‰

    Asha, can’t wait to see the b’day pics!

    And Sandeepa, I loved the UFOs πŸ˜‰

  13. bee said

    i’ve made the kanji and payar from shn’s blog too. love it. the ‘shot’ of kanji is a cool idea. pappadam would be a good garnish.

    Papad is a good garnish for anything, dear Bee! Even good as its own garnish πŸ˜‰ The ‘shot’ idea came from seeing a glass of kanji at Inji’s blog long ago. Hope you’re doing well! πŸ™‚

  14. Mishmash! said

    Linda….i don’t know how i missed this post….just now while following some link, i happened to see this one and i had that big wow/surprised look on my face,,,,i cant believe that u made all that….and am so glad u enjoyed those dishes….happy that you could get a taste of our traditional simple food…..u have no idea how much this post makesme happy πŸ™‚

    Hi Shn… you have no idea how happy you made me with your lovely comment! Thanks, I’m so glad you enjoyed πŸ™‚

  15. chinchu said

    this is a good food kanji, payar and achar ( pickle )

    Thanks for visiting, chinchu πŸ™‚

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

