Weekend Happenings

All the bloggers have been taking part in a good cause — helping Bee and Jai’s friend Bri raise funds to treat cancer.

Please visit Bee and Jai to learn more about their special “Click” for Bri πŸ™‚

~~~~~~

It’s been in the 90s yesterday and today — good weather for garden growing…

deck veggies

ichiban eggplants and a golden jubilee tomato to the left…. lemon cukes barely popping up to the right…

deck veggies too
celebrity tomato to the left, chard, a green goddess eggplant, and some mystery gourds below… ISG? πŸ™‚

deckjungle
the whole kit and kaboodle on the deck, basking in the 90 degree heat… and yes, that’s dosa batter under the foil!

Good day to stay indoors too, if you’re so lucky as to be a cat… πŸ˜‰

pinks and daisy lounging around
pinkie and daisy are taking advantage of the heat too — lazing around on a Sunday afternoon…

And… a guessing game?

what am I in this eggplant
what am I, poking up through the eggplant?

shilpa\'s beNNe dosa and sides

Please visit Shilpa and her Dosa Corner for this awesome meal: beNNe dosas with aloo palya and coconut chutney

I made everything according to plan, but I think I didn’t have enough water in the batter as this first dosa broke. Nonetheless, it all tasted fabulous — thank you, Shilpa!! I had it with shallot sambhar, made with the real thing πŸ™‚

9 Comments »

  1. indosungod said

    Linda, love the container garden you have growing in your deck, all so happy and soaking up the sun.
    The mystery gourd – cucumber perhaps?

    Oh the dosai with chutney and sambhar – that is a heavenly match.

    The container plants are way ahead of the stuff in the ground, thanks to the extra heat I think. Hopefully my son will keep them watered when I get my summer break!

    I don’t know what that mystery was, but the bigger it got the more it looked like a weed, so finally I pulled it πŸ˜‰

  2. Asha said

    I am bad at guessing! Sorry!:D

    All plants are thriving in this heat, all my gourds are up.I had big bunch of Red Chards today, making a stir fry. Great seeing your plants Linda, glad it’s hot there at last. We had 100F weekend, and 98+F whole week, lake is drying already.

    Dosa batter looks great there, I making one too to post at Aroma, mystery grain!:D

    Barn is painted red already, updated photo there. Now we are getting the deck painted!:)

    Can’t wait to see your new barn Asha, and your garden! Heading right over to check out the pics. Mystery grain too, hooray! πŸ˜‰

  3. bee said

    what a lovely assortment of plants you have, dear linda. we had unusually cold weather the past few days and killed a few.

    Hope your weather has warmed up, Bee. I guess we can be thankful we don’t live in the midwest where everything is washing away… 😦

  4. shilpa said

    Thanks for trying out dosa Linda.
    Simply love your veggie plants. Wow..you have so many of them.

    Thank you, Shilpa, for the great recipe! That coconut chutney was awesome especially πŸ™‚

  5. Happy Cook said

    Me too am bad in guessing games and when it come to plants i am the worse i don’t have green fingers, i am always jealous when i see beautiful garden, in my home i think the only plant which last is the cactus as it doesn’t need any carrinf for

    My son had a cactus plant once. I don’t have a green thumb for a houseplant, but veggies seem to grow without much help from me πŸ™‚

  6. Suganya said

    Do you have to go to that extent to ferment idli batter? wow! Mine doubles inside the oven.

    Oh Suganya, that made me laugh πŸ™‚ I don’t *have* to put dosa batter out there, but it was such a hot day I thought I’d see if the heat helped it along.

  7. mythiliv said

    90+ ?? 100+
    Arrggghhhh. I hate you.

    Heh Heh

    And look at that .. you have a vegetable garden out there. I am jealous of you!! And the beNNe dosa look awesome.

    My guess: Chinese/Malabar Spinach?

    I think it was a weed, Mythili 😦 The 100’s have gone, just normal 70s and 80s now. I would send you some of that 100 degrees next time! πŸ™‚

  8. sia said

    wow linda… i can’t wait to see ur beautiful summer bounty πŸ™‚ and would you please send me some sunshine too πŸ™‚

    Big batch of sunshine coming straight your way, Sia dear πŸ™‚

  9. Jyothsna said

    Wo, you have a lovely thriving garden! The dosas look great!

    Thanks so much, Jyosthna! πŸ™‚

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

