Trial and Error, at Jihva Time

No, not Nabeela’s delightful blog! Just my own kitchen.

I am busy trying new things for JFI: Toor Dal. And between work and kids, I don’t have a minute to spare to clear off the counter and make a nice place for a photo.

Do you ever think you’re the only one with a slightly cluttered and not-quite-perfect countertop on which to photo your wonderful creations?

Considering some of the gorgeous kitchens out there, I may be the *only* one with a cluttered countertop! In the spirit of Jihva (which I understand is an emotion more than a motion ~~ ie: moving the mail and kids’ papers and yesterdays clean dishes waiting to be put away just so I can photo next toor dal dish is motion rather than Emotion! πŸ™‚ )

… and perhaps encouragement to anyone who, like me, takes pics for fun can’t always clear the counter when the real food-mood inspiration strikes, here’s a look at my REAL counter, alot of which is cut off when I take pics for my blog πŸ˜‰

my messyΒ counter
my messy counter ~ complete with bananas, Thanksgiving silver yet to be relegated to the dining room ~ recipes hastily scribbled on index cards, and a big bag of toor dal, 10 lbs for $11, what a bargain!

Still time to post your toor dal recipe, something old or something new, something borrowed with credit given where credit is due πŸ™‚
Deadline for entries to JFI: Toor Dal is December 7.

Come along and join in! πŸ™‚

10 Comments »

  1. Hugs Linda, first of all hats of to you for managing home, kids, work, blog, events and what not! You deserve an award for that.
    With regards to the countertop, trust me you are not alone. I have the worst countertops event. The white color has turned brown and not to mention the innumerable spots on them. 😦

    RC, you are a sweet gal and thanks for the hugs – I needed that, looking at those counters of mine! πŸ™‚ Hugs back to you and don’t worry. Have you ever tried baking soda and water paste? That works wonders on white counter-stains πŸ™‚

  2. Nupur said

    Now that is one giant bag of toor dal!

    Isn’t it awesome, Nupur? My fav part was the red cord. Fairly cheap plastic package but gorgeous thick red cord to carry it. Now the bag is empty, the cord will become a great kitty toy, value-added dal deal πŸ˜‰

  3. indosungod said

    Linda, the cluttered countertop makes me feel right at home. I tend to not find things if the world around me is too organized πŸ™‚

    Ah, ISG — I might have known you’d empathise with me. There’s alot to be said for organised chaos, yes? πŸ™‚

  4. sandeepa said

    Linda you are like my hubby. He says becaus I Keep putting things away he forgets his office id in the mornings. He also insistes that I make things superficially un-cluttered by just shoving stuff within drawers, cabinets, closets , refrigerators…so now you know where to find clutter if you are visiting πŸ™‚

    Is that some special toor ? What is that name ?

    Haha, Sandeepa! I do the same……. (running hiding for the shame of it) πŸ˜‰

    The dal is not unusual that I know of, is just Durbar brand. Sometimes where I shop, they have ‘specials’ by the door. This time I got lucky πŸ™‚

  5. Richa said

    wow! u’ve a full desi pantry, Linda!
    now that price is a steal, hope u get to store it well, sometimes it attracts the unwanted kind.

    LOL Richa, I ran straight to get it under cover soon as the photo was taken. Took your advice to heart πŸ™‚

  6. shammi said

    Oh dont worry, I’m messier than you – and there’s NO way I’m showing anybody any photos of my kitchen counter! πŸ˜€ Not unless they’re here in the flesh, that is.

    I’m relieved to know I’m not alone Shammi! πŸ˜‰

  7. vimmi said

    Hi Linda,
    My friends would always be found at my place (when we were kids) bcos no one scolded them for making a mess. Too clean and organized a home makes me feel like living in a meseum. urs looks just like a home.

    Thank you so much for the kind comment Vimmi — that’s a great way to look at it. When my kids were small I used to allow the same thing πŸ™‚

  8. prema said

    Thats a good bag of dal for that price..

    Thanks Prema — with all this validation I begin to think I should go back and get another while they last! πŸ™‚

  9. Manasi said

    Doesn’t a cluttered countertop make u feel at home?? hehehe!! mine’s the same too!

    πŸ™‚ Manasi, yes, it does feel more like home when I can’t find a thing πŸ˜‰

  10. mallugirl said

    clutter is a sign of genius! dec 9th ..i wish but i really won’t be able to make it for ur party. next time for sure.. and i do love tur dal so much, thats a real miss for me.:(

    Genius!??!? I am going to remember that S πŸ˜‰

    Come to the round up party and cook up something good from that. You’ve got your hands full as it is! Hope you are all doing well πŸ™‚

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

