Toor Dal Party ~ Come One Come All

toor dalΒ party
toor dal party!

There is still time to post something for JFI: Toor Dal!

Cook something new, or choose an old fav from your archives.
All are welcome, right up until December 7
(little late deadline for busy time of year).

And a great big thank you to those of you who have already contributed πŸ™‚

There are lots of fantastic dishes waiting for the round up coming mid-December. Above are a few of my own entries. See if any inspirational chefs recognize their recipes in Nana’s dishes! πŸ™‚

25 Comments »

  1. Rajeswari said

    Thats really a toor dal party!!

    πŸ™‚ thanks Rajeswari!

  2. srivalli said

    wow..what a party Linda…everything is looking great….

    Thank you Sri πŸ™‚

  3. sushma said

    Linda,

    Tats truelly toordal party.. too tempting can i hv also smthng of it?

    sushma

    Thank you Sushma — of course please help yourself πŸ™‚

  4. RP said

    Um..I missed it. But did you say we can send one from the archives? That is so kind of you. πŸ™‚ Let me check out my archives.
    All the best.

    Thank you RP — yep, pull one from the archives, sure! πŸ™‚

  5. TBC said

    TD party indeed! πŸ™‚

    πŸ™‚ Thanks TBC

  6. Siri said

    Wow, Love the Toor Dal Party. I am so looking forward for the RoundUp!

    planning to send one more in couple of days..:))

    ~ Siri

    Thanks a bunch, Siri! Send away, more the merrier πŸ™‚

  7. indosungod said

    Toor Party indeed Linda! Looking forward to the roundup!

    Thanks ISG – it should be fun! πŸ™‚

  8. Ashwini said

    Linda dear thanks so much for the extended deadline. I am going to go on vacation so there is just too much work to wrap up. I thought I wouldnt be able to make it but I am sure Dec 7 gives me a lot more chance.

    Hi Ashwini — I understand how hectic things can be when you’re tying up loose ends before a vacation! If you have time, great — if not, send it when you get back and I will add it to the round up πŸ™‚

  9. Mythreyee said

    way to go Linda. Go Toor Dal !

    πŸ™‚ thanks Mythreyee!

  10. Manasi said

    What a spread!!! Way to go!!!

    I keep getting error mesages when I am trying to mail u the link for my JFI entry..:((
    outofthegarden1911@ yahoo.com this is the right add. isn’t it?

    Sorry about Yahoo being a pain, Manasi — I will get your entry as we discussed πŸ™‚

  11. Namratha said

    I have so many from my archives Linda, dal is something I use almost every day πŸ™‚ Will send in more entries then…!!

    Sounds great, Namratha! πŸ™‚

  12. valli said

    I am not able to send in my recipe for the JFI event to the email outofthegarden1911@yahoo.com. Is there any other email i could send the recipe to?

    hi Valli, I’m not sure why Yahoo is rejecting some mail. I apologize for the inconvenience. I think yours finally did come through! πŸ™‚

  13. Aparna said

    sMASHing dal party.

    MASHed toor dal? πŸ™‚ Thanks Aparna!

  14. Revathi said

    thanks i need that time. Will send my entree.

    Wonderful, looking forwad to it Revathi! πŸ™‚

  15. Cynthia said

    Man I want to come to this party in real not virtually! πŸ™‚

    Door’s open anytime, Cynthia dear πŸ™‚

  16. Shweta said

    Yumm Yumm! I was done with my cooking for the event at least 2 weeks back, just haven’t had the time to post! I am so glad there is still time πŸ™‚

    Yumm Yumm is what I said when I saw your post, Shweta! Thanks so much πŸ™‚

  17. elaichietcetera said

    Looks like I’ve missed a few things! I don’t know if I’ll be able to make an entry, but I sure look forward to the roundup. But would you like to hear something strange Linda? Now, keep in mind that I didn’t know until today that you were hosting December’s Jihva, or that you chose Toor. I’ve been trying to do a “use up” of all of my legumes before I buy any more, and I was doing really well until a few days ago when I spied bags of toor dhal on the grocer’s shelf. I used up my stash long ago, see, but… I just couldn’t help myself!!! I missed it so…oh, what a fantastic flavour it has! Chana will always be #1 with me, but toor…it’s not #2, no… it’s #1.5! πŸ˜€

    Hi Pel, I guess I can accept 1.5 πŸ˜‰ I have that same rule about using up what I’ve got before buying more. Happily, some rules were made to be broken! πŸ™‚

  18. Thanks linda for allowing old posts! I have a few which I can send by tomorrow! Nice party! Loved your dinner set! πŸ™‚

    Thanks Latha, I’m glad you liked nana’s dishes πŸ™‚ Send along anything you like, more the merrier! πŸ™‚

  19. sandeepa said

    You sure must be having a field day, eating all that toor dal πŸ™‚

    Ha ha Sandeepa, I just pictured a field full of toor dal growing! πŸ˜‰

  20. Vani said

    Oooh, everything looks yum, Linda! And I love your nana’s dishes too -beautiful!

    Thank you so much Vani dear! Round up in a week or so including your own yummy dish! πŸ™‚

  21. sagari said

    wowww linda food lookss delecioussss

    Thank you so much, Sagari! πŸ™‚

  22. remya said

    hii linda…love ur toor dal spread…wat a party dear…hy i was trying to send my entry to the event.But it shows erroe messages and i cant send ..outofthegarden@yahoo.com rht??? Plz check dear..otherwise have a look at my blog.
    http://spicesnflavours.blogspot.com/2007/12/sorakkai-paruppu-kootu.html

    Hi Remya, glad you like the party πŸ™‚ I’m sorry for the mixup with email — there is ‘1911’ at the end of that out of the garden. Not to worry, I will run to your blog and pick it up! Thanks so much πŸ™‚

  23. Indira said

    I see brinjal sambar, spinach or gongura dal, ridge gourd- tomato and toor dal combination, again sambar or rasam with toor dal. Correct?:)

    What a party that is, lovely Linda.:)

    Many thanks, and you’re correct, Indira πŸ™‚ The sambhar on the right is Shilpa’s Ash Gourd sambhar. And the ridge gourd/tomato dal comes from your recipe that V. likes πŸ™‚ Almost time for the BIG party now!

  24. pritya said

    Hi Linda, That looks an awesome spread and a real inspiration for those who are yet to discover the complete charms of toor dal. Like all your friends, we are also waiting to see all the entries. It is amazing to see such common interests and excitement among bloggers…its quite a wonderful world – the blog world.

  25. Saroja said

    wow!! Looks great!!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

