Aromatic Baked Dal

green moong, moth, and urad dals
a trio of earthy colors and tastes: whole black urad dal, whole green moong dal, and whole moth dal

Here is an easy recipe for mixed dals, baked in the beanpot. It takes half the day, but it’s worth it for the delicious aroma that will permeate the kitchen.

dal in beanpot
aromatic baked dal in beanpot

Aromatic Baked Dal

1/2 c whole black urad dal
1/2 c whole moth dal
1/2 c whole green moong dal
pinch turmeric
pinch asafoetida

Night before, pick over and wash the whole black urad. Leave it to soak overnight. In the morning, drain and rinse the whole urad and boil one hour in fresh water with a little turmeric and asafoetida. Meanwhile, pick over and wash the moth and whole green moong dals. Leave them to soak for one hour.

While the dals soak, prepare the paste:

chop 2 onions and fry in 1 tsp ghee until browned.
blanch 3 tomatoes, chop them and grind with onions.

Drain all the dals and rinse the boiling water from the urad. Place all the dals into the beanpot. Place beanpot in cold oven and preheat to 250F (this is to avoid cracking the beanpot. Follow the method you use for your own clay pot).

In a saucepan, heat 1 tsp ghee.

Add:

3 TB ginger garlic paste
2 tsp kashmiri chili powder
1/2 tsp turmeric
1 TB cumin powder
1 tsp mace
1 tsp salt
2 cinnamon sticks

Saute everything for a few minutes, then add the onion-tomato paste.
Cook about 10 minutes, then add three cups fresh water. Bring to a boil and add to the dals in the warming beanpot. Stir well, cover the pot, and bake for 1 hr. After 1 hr, stir everything around again. Raise heat to 325F and bake another hour. By now, the liquid should be boiling around the edges. Stir and add more water as necessary. Continue to check every 30 minutes or so. Stir, add water, and adjust the heat as necessary.
My pot took about 4 hours and about 2 additional cups water.

Serve hot with rice, breads, or papad.

baked dal
aromatic baked dal with sago papad

16 Comments »

  1. asha said

    Guess what?! I have one to go in my next post too with one of these dals!:))
    They taste great,specially mixed with all three in ond dal .Yum!! I can imagine.Enjoy the dal Linda.

    Can’t wait to see yours, Asha 🙂

  2. Vini K said

    Linda,I have always wanted to try baked dal before..looks great.Will try this sometime.

    Thank you, Vini! 🙂

  3. Hello, Linda!
    This work is very good, thank you

  4. Mishmash! said

    Isn’t that ur new england treasure ? 😉
    Shn

    You have a good eye, Shn… it’s the very beanpot! 😉

  5. sia said

    wow… another delicious recipe:) they really do look very appetizing. and i love that bean pot of urs. we have same kind of ceramic pots back in india (but much larger) which is mainly used for preserving pickles.

    Thank you Supriya! Since I first used that beanpot I have learned that similar pots are used in India — sometimes it’s a small world 🙂

  6. Hema said

    Never in a million years (as if I will be around for so long..but thats what they say) would I have thought of baking dals. This looks amazingly good Linda. Thanks for the recipe.

    Thank you Hema — I’m so glad you like it! 🙂

  7. Manjula said

    Yummy..I was looking for recipes with whole urad dal. As a south Indian I use urad dal only for idli and dosa. Had a few questions.
    1. Why drain the liquid cooking from urad dal? Is it to thicken the dal or any other reason? The liquid in which we cook the veggies and beans are nutritious, so I never discard those.
    2. Can I cook this in pressure cooker? I guess it speeds up the process, saves energy too.
    Thanks in advance

    Hi Manjula, the reason I drained the first boiling water from the urad dal was because it was very dark colored from the black dal. I have also read that draining off that first boiling water helps to reduce gaseous effects of beans/dals. I’m sure you could use that water if you wished. Also, you could certainly use a pressure cooker. I baked the dal in the oven to see how it would taste when cooked slowly. Thanks for your comments 🙂

  8. sandeepa said

    Never tried Baked Dal before..thanks Linda. Looks so good and rich and warm and…:)

    Thanks Sandeepa! Do try sometime… it’s a bit different taste since the spices have time to cook right into the dal 🙂

  9. indosungod said

    Linda, I can smell the aromatic goodness from here. Looks wonderful. I should start my hunt for these clay pots. Let’s see who finishes first you with the Pressure Cooker or me with the Clay Pot. Just kidding…

    On your mark… get set… GO! 😉
    Just kidding ISG! Beanpots can often be found in flea markets if you’re comfy using someone else’s dishes. Also mail order from Boston. I think you would like this dish.

  10. Sushma said

    Linda, you reminded me of my childhood when I spent my summer vacations at my maternal grandmother, she used to cook moong dal the same way you described and it tasted delicious..I still remmember the taste…Oohhh thanxs so much for re-discovering and inspiring me to cook this delicious way of cooking dal.

    Also loved the pictures of your beach trip… beautiful

    -Sushma

    Thanks so much Sushma — I’m so happy you enjoyed! I bet your grandmother’s moong dal was out of this world 🙂

  11. prema said

    I haven’t tried baking dal before linda .. but the picture of baked dal really tempts me to try it .. They look so nice . thanks for the recipe

    Thank you Prema… it’s very easy although takes more time… if you try I hope you enjoy! 🙂

  12. seema said

    Linda,
    Good gracious!!! The baked dal looks just superb. Loveeeeeeee it. Gonna try it soon

    Wow, Seema… thanks ! 🙂 I hope you enjoy 🙂

  13. Nabeela said

    I love it how you adapted baked beans recipe to accomodate Indian dals….do you have a tried and tested recipe for baked beans with maple? I’d love to try that one day…

    Hi Nabeela — I find myself adapting everything lately! 😉 I will poke around for a baked bean recipe with maple. I have one here for baked beans with jaggery and molasses. I think you could substitute maple syrup in that recipe as well.

  14. Aruna said

    Linda,

    The dal loooks soooo delicious… Do you think cooking in a crockpot would be an alternative to baking & the end result being the same.?? I think I will be buying a crockpot soon & try this…. Thansk Aruna.

    Hi Aruna, thank you so much! I certainly do think you could make this in a crockpot… the slow cooking being the thing that brings out the aroma, and crockpot would do that! Do try and see if you like it 🙂

  15. MeltingWok said

    Linda..gee, I’ve missed out so much of your goodies, been so busy 😦 Anyway, time to catch up..wowsers..that pot of beans with smoke coming out of my ears now, feels right about now.. haha 🙂

    I’ve been busy too Shirley, got lots to catch up on … 🙂

  16. Nidhi said

    Hey Linda,
    I tried this daal and used only urad and moong as I was out of moth. It turned out lip smacking delicious. Thanks for the recipe.

    Hi Nidhi, so happy to hear you enjoyed it! Thanks for stopping 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

