Rye Breadsticks for Thanksgiving Dinner

rye breadsticks
rye breadsticks for Thanksgiving

For Thanksgiving, I tried my hand at another bread recipe — this time it was
Rye Breadsticks from Hodgson Mill website. They mixed up quick and easy, and although I didn’t take the time to get fancy with the toppings, they were tasty all the same.

thanksgiving montage
a thanksgiving day montage ~ clockwise from top left:
~ new england clam chowder and french onion soup cooking
~ moong dal and rice, two kinds of stuffing, mashed potatoes
~ stuffing on the table
~ desserts included apple and squash pies, gingerbread, apple crisp, and ashwini’s goad bhaat
~ roast turkey, cranberry sauce, white sweet potato casserole
~ indosungod’s brinjal and brussels sprouts curry, turnips and stuffing
~ assorted munchies

Along with the usual fare, I added two Indian dishes I wanted to try — Indosungod’s Brinjal and Brussels Sprouts Curry (sans spinach), and Ashwini’s Goad Bhaat. My extended family was very interested to know about the jars of dal and spices I’ve accumulated since last Thanksgiving, and I was more than happy to demonstrate. Thank you ISG and Ashwini, for the lovely recipes; both were delicious!

6 Comments »

  1. mm said

    My hat is off to you for preparing such a meal for your family! The work involved in preparing such a meal is tremendous and the presentation of your meal exquisite! mm

    Thank you, mm! Are you coming over soon with tools to widen my doorway? My head will get too big to fit through ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Vani said

    What a lovely spread, Linda! Good to see the unexpected along with the traditional Thanksgiving fare. Very nice!!

    Hi Vani, thank you! It was fun to jazz things up a little ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. sandeepa said

    wow great spread. First time to your blog and am amazed at the cooking you did.

    Hi Sandeepa, and welcome. Thanks for your kind words… I do love to cook and the big meals aren’t much more work once you’re in the kitchen ๐Ÿ™‚ Off to peek at your blog now…

  4. Monisha said

    Linda, that spread looks absolutely delectable ! I loved the combination of traditional and unique dishes, yum!

    Thanks, Monisha! I wish I had your death by chocolate cookie recipe that day! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. indosungod said

    Linda, thanksgiving dishes looks amazing. Really happy the dish turned out good. Hats off to you for trying these Indian dishes

    Thanks so much ISG. Your brinjal curry was a big hit. Next time I’m going to add the spinach too ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. mandira said

    Linda – the dinner looks amazing. What a spread! I love your collection of antique dishes…

    Thank you Mandira — I really enjoy setting the table with the older dishes. They have that “traditional” feel that my newer things can’t match. Happy to see you enjoyed the holiday too ๐Ÿ™‚

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

