Happy Thanksgiving!

dishes 2
creamer and sugar

Thanksgiving preparations are in full swing! French onion soup and New England clam chowder are ready. Two stuffings, butternut squash and mashed turnips await, along with candied carrots, brussels sprouts and green beans. There is more to do in the morning.

nana’s dishes
nana’s dishes ~ they are called Pastoral Davenport ~ each piece in the setting (plate, bowl, etc) shows a different rural farm scene

One of my favorite things about Thanksgiving is my grandmother’s dishes. It is an older set, and it is very special to me because she gave the pieces to me bit by bit over the years. When I was through school and working, I would make the short trip to the cape to visit nana and we’d sit and talk. Eventually, almost inevitably, we would putter into her old-fashioned pantry (a real room, not just a closet as I have now!) and she’d start pulling these down from the shelves. She acquired this lovely set years back when she was setting up her own home. I remember how excited I was to serve my first Thanksgiving dinner on them — with nana in the place of honor at my table. I miss her every day. Bringing out nana’s dishes is now a Thanksgiving eve tradition I share with my own daughter. All the sweet memories come flooding back…

dishes 3
platter

I enjoy using antique dishes and glassware – these pieces were made in the early 1900’s in a pattern called “Michigan” (big surprise!).

michigan glass
Early American Pattern Glass

I am thankful for the kindness and friendship I find here every day, and I wish each and every one of you a wonderful Thanksgiving (or just a happy weekend!) filled with smiles and laughter.

daisy helping
daisy loves to help set the table

pinkie helping
pinkie also enjoys helping in his own way…

Happy Thanksgiving!

9 Comments »

  1. Asha said

    Beautiful china!! All the good things and good food makes us all so happy,don’t they Linda!

    I am off in few hrs, thought I will visit you since I am only one who is all ready to go as usual!:))

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving. My son is making me cook Indian style Thanksgiving meal when I come back,can’t escape:D

    Hi Asha, hope you had a great beach vacation! I am wanting Indian style meals now… last night made cheater chana masala (still have to get that recipe up) and methi onion dal too πŸ˜‰ Can’t wait to see your Indian Thanksgiving dinner for your son!

  2. Vani said

    Lovely crockery, Linda! I love anything that’s even slightly toile!
    Daisy’s coloring is very smilar to my cat Ginger’s. Looks like you got a lot of help from the cats, Pinkie especially! πŸ™‚

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Thank you Vani, just came from peeking at your blog and I’ve bookmarked it πŸ™‚ Hope you had a happy holiday weekend too!

  3. indosungod said

    Wonderful dishes, has the oldworld charm to it. So you are busy cooking up thanksgiving dinner. Have a great time. Let me know how you and your guests liked the eggplant dish.

    Hi ISG, hope you had a lovely long weekend. Brinjal curry was enjoyed by everyone who tried it! Many thanks, I know I will be making that often πŸ™‚

  4. Archana said

    What a lovely tresure it is, you must have been your nana’a favorite grandchild. Happy thanksgiving Linda, i hope you will post a photo of your thanksgiving dishes for us.

    Dear Archana, thank you! I am always so happy to see you here. It was a crazy day thursday; I didn’t get any great photos. I will beg some pointers from you on photography of bread….hope you had a lovely thanksgiving too πŸ™‚

  5. Lera said

    Wow! exquisite china ware,Linda you ‘ve a beautiful treasure out there! Happy Thanksgiving and a great weekend πŸ™‚

    Thank you so much, Lera! Hope you had a great weekend too πŸ™‚

  6. krithika said

    Lovely China ! Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving !

    Thanks so much, Krithika!

  7. Arjuna said

    Beautiful china Linda! I am pretty sure you had a great thanksgiving.. with that menu you listed served in that exquisite china! Belated thanksgiving wishes to you.

    Thank you Arjuna — I’m happy to see you can have a little leisure time browsing the blogs. That is hard to come by I know πŸ™‚ I was in the Burlington grocers last weekend — always think of you. Perhaps someday we’ll bump into one another there! Take care πŸ™‚

  8. Vaishali said

    What beautiful dishes, Linda. Nice of your Nana to have passed them on. Btw, I am eyeing my grandmother’s collection of brass utensils. They are some 80 to 90 years old. I hope she stops ingnoring my hints some day. πŸ™‚

    Thanks Vaishali. I guess I wasn’t too shy when I admired Nana’s things in her pantry… I would love to see a photo of your grandmother’s collection sometime. Maybe if you take enough photos, she’ll offer to send some home with you πŸ˜‰

  9. Manisha said

    How precious, Linda! Truly! I am sure there are many many family dinners that this beautiful china is a silent witness to. If only it could speak!

    I loved your breadsticks! And your Thanksgiving dinner speaks volumes about you and your food adventures!

    Have a wonderful Holiday season!

    Thanks, Manisha — I love that personification — “if only it could speak” indeed! Wishing you and yours a very happy holiday season too πŸ™‚

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

