Staving Off a Craving ~ Lower Fat Chaat

“MMmmm… I could really go for some dahi papri chaat from India Castle today…”

“You don’t need to spend $6.50 on a little bowl of potatoes and yogurt”.

“But it’s not just potatoes and yogurt! There are chick peas!”.

“You have chick peas at home, you lazy…”

“But this has that wonderful tamarind sauce… and the little fried…”!

“That’s it — no fried anything for you”!

~~~

That’s the argument I had with myself at work this afternoon. While my better side won out, I was still craving that chaat. I didn’t want to cave in and buy anything fried; after all, I had won the battle with my conscience. I did, however, buy a jar of Swad Delhi Ki Chat sauce, and tried to emulate the dish.

I don’t know how authentic it was, but it satisfied my craving tonight.

~~

Lower Fat Chaat

1/2 c cooked potato, diced
1/4 c cooked chick peas
2-3 small pappadums, microwaved

1/2 c yogurt
1/2 tsp chaat masala
1/4 c Delhi Ki Chat sauce

Mix chaat masala with yogurt, thin with water if necessary. On a plate, arrange the potatoes and chick peas with papad pieces around. Top with spiced yogurt and bottled sauce.

Voila! Lower fat chaat in five minutes or less πŸ˜‰

lower-fat chaat
lower-fat chaat, a quick-fix for my craving

And if you want to try the Real Thing:

Asha’s Salsa Bhelpuri

Indianadoc’s Sweet Corn Chaat

Lera’s Masala Puri Chaat

Sailu’s Dahi Vada

Shilpa’s Chaat Collection:
Bhel
Alu Papad Chaat
Sweet Chutney

Vineela’s Fenugreek Poori in Dahi Chaat

5 Comments »

  1. Arjuna said

    Wow that’s a great looking chaat Linda πŸ™‚ …and low fat too yumm!

    Thanks, Arjuna πŸ™‚

  2. shilpa said

    Hey..I usually make that sauce at home. You can check out here
    http://www.aayisrecipes.com/2006/03/15/sweet-chutney/
    I make the chat like this
    http://www.aayisrecipes.com/2006/03/14/alu-papad-chaat/

    BTW…I thought the initial discussion was between you and your husband. We have such arguments almost daily and most of the time my better half wins. Only some times, I deliver some hindi movie type emotional dialogs and I win :D. He is more concerned about my throat than myself (I don’t have weight increase problems as already I am atleast 15lbs underweight).

    Thanks for pointing out those great recipes Shilpa — I added them above. I wouldn’t mind lending you a pound or two… πŸ™‚

  3. Krithika said

    Chaat looks delicious ! That too low-fat. Linda you are too creative !

    Amazing what we can come up with to satisfy a craving, isn’t it? πŸ™‚ Thanks, Krithika!

  4. Asha said

    Hi Linda, low fat and quick chaat rules. Take a look at my Salsa Bhel , You can link that if you like! I am all for Chaats..quick or not.. Thanks for sharing this one πŸ™‚

    http://foodieshope.blogspot.com/2006/08/salsa-bhelpuri_20.html

    Thanks Asha — I’ve linked your recipe above as well. Looks delicious!

  5. that looks delicious….nice try..

    Thank you Maneka πŸ™‚

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

