Methi Mushrooms

methi mushrooms
methi mushrooms

Back in the winter, I was eating Amy’s or Ethnic Gourmet frozen meals for work lunch a few times a week. Not only was the cost adding up, the calories were as well. Now that I have learned a bit about cooking Indian at home, I’m trying to make my own frozen lunches.

Tonight I made fresh mushrooms with tomato and spinach, flavored with kasoori methi. Simple, spicy, low-cost and lo-cal!

fresh mushrooms, spinach, garlic and tomato
fresh mushrooms, spinach, garlic and tomato

Methi Mushrooms
enough for four lunches

1 1/2 lbs fresh mushrooms
1 large ripe tomato
4 oz fresh spinach

1 tsp oil or ghee
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 TB minced garlic or garlic paste
1/2 tsp kashmiri chili powder, or to taste
1/4 tsp salt
1-2 TB kasoori methi

1 TB daliya powder mixed with 1 TB water

Wipe mushrooms with a damp cloth (they absorb a lot of water if actually washed) and cut into thick pieces. Chop tomato into smaller pieces. Wash spinach, and if large, tear into smaller pieces.

In a wide saute pan, heat oil or ghee over medium heat and pop mustard. Add garlic and saute a few minutes till fragrant. Add chopped tomatoes and their juice, cook down 5 minutes, then move tomatoes to one side of the pan. Turn heat to high and add the mushrooms in the free area. Stir and turn the mushrooms for a few minutes till they take on some color, then add chili powder, salt, and kasoori methi. Reduce heat to medium-low, mix all together well and cook 10 minutes or so, till most of the liquid has evaporated.

Mix daliya powder and water together in a small bowl, then pour over the veggies, stirring constantly. Allow to cook a few minutes to remove raw taste of daliya. Fold in spinach and cook a further few minutes till wilted.

Give everything a good stir and taste for salt. Serve hot with plain rice, or freeze for lunch!

homemade lunch
homemade lunches: methi mushrooms and Indira’s yummy
chana masala with rice

8 Comments »

  1. vineela said

    Hi Linda,
    Wow ,Home made lunch in packed style.

    I love mushrooms and iam going to give it a try.
    I am planning to do an event on green leaves after my jfi because of one of my visitor ‘s request.
    Hope it will work out nicely with your methi mushroom.
    thanks for sharing.
    Vineela

    Hi Vineela,

    If you try, I hope you like them. I’m looking forward to your JFI for milk. Green leaves event sounds great — I hope to take part in that as well πŸ™‚

  2. Vaishali said

    That is indeed low-cal, Linda. I am sure it tastes great with the Kasoori Methi aroma in it. Mmmmmmm…..

    Thanks Vaishali — I was a little skeptical, not having used kasoori methi much before — have to say I enjoyed the taste. Nice to see you back blog-browsing πŸ™‚

  3. Luv2Cook said

    Linda:

    Great looking lunches there. Question – where do you get the black containers you use? And can you do a post about what you do to freeze them – like what do you cover it with etc?

    Hi Sam, and thanks. Happy to see you peeked into the blogs in spite of the busy time πŸ™‚

    Those black containers are all recycled from aforementioned storebought frozen meals. You could also use the inexpensive tupperware-style containers from Glad etc… those have covers. For the black containers, I just wrapped tightly in heavy-duty aluminum foil. When I go to heat them, I remove the wrap if microwaving. Hope this helps.

  4. Shankari said

    very good recipe, I have never had this in the past, this is a must try

    Thanks Shankari — if you try I hope you enjoy! πŸ™‚

  5. Puspha said

    Very delicious looking dish. I love mushrooms.

    Thank you, Pushpa πŸ™‚

  6. Luv2Cook said

    Cool…yeah the tupperware dividing containers will work perfect. I don’t know why I didn’t think of it :-p. I will definitely try this freezing lunches idea. It is very helpful. Although, I cannot do it for H because he likes food that doesn’t need microwaving for lunch as he has to go all the way to the 4th floor (he is on the 1st floor) to get access to a microwave at work. It is gonna be sandwiches for him and some yummy Indian frozen food for me heheeh….

    Sounds like a great plan, Sam πŸ˜‰

  7. Arjuna said

    Great looking lunches! Nice idea of recycling the frozen lunch containers!

    Thanks Arjuna. I’m something of a container fanatic… was happy to put those to good use πŸ™‚

  8. Linda, that makes me so hungry…..i think im going to help some from there ..ok..Thanks for sharing..

    Help yourself anytime, Sudah… thanks! πŸ™‚

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

