Mixed Gourd Curry with Two Dals

When I went shopping last weekend, I found a small box of snake gourds. They weren’t the best looking veggies I’ve ever seen ~~ they were a little wilted. Nonetheless, I really wanted to try. I chose the freshest one I could, and popped it into my basket.

This evening I went searching for recipes, and decided to make
Priya’s Snake Gourd Curry.

I had one problem: not even enough snake gourd to make half the recipe.
I had a nice fresh ridge gourd, and the mystery gourd still keeping well in the fridge, so I mixed them up.

ridge gourd, bottle gourd, and snake gourd
mixed gourds, mustard and curry leaves

I followed Priya’s recipe.

Mixed Gourd Curry with Two Dals (a la Priya)

1/4 c moong dal
1/4 c masoor dal

3 c mixed gourd, chopped (discard seeds from snake gourd, I learned)

1/2 tsp fresh pepper, dry roasted and ground
1/4 tsp asafoetida
salt to taste

for tempering:
1 tsp oil or ghee
1/2 tsp mustard seeds
4-5 curry leaves

Cook the two dals till soft and keep aside. Cook gourds in boiling water with asafoetida and a little salt, 10-15 minutes till tender but not mushy. Drain off most of the water, add cooked dals and fresh-ground pepper. Keep over medium-low heat another 10 minutes or so, until most of the water has cooked away.

Heat the oil or ghee, add mustard, and when it pops, add curry leaves. Cook a minute then add to the gourd/dal mixture. Cook 5 minutes longer, stir well, and serve hot.

three gourd curry
delicious peppery mixed gourd curry over rice ~ thank you Priya!

5 Comments »

  1. Nabeela said

    Interesting blend of gourds ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks Nabeela — all those gourds are keeping me out of the chocolate drawer ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Priya said

    Nice combo of dals & gourds Linda !
    Iam glad you tried this recipe. Its little different from the regular Kootu’s ( Curries) , i love the fresh gorund pepper in this curry.

    Thanks for the great recipe, Priya! I loved the pepper, too ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Indosungod said

    Linda, I have never tried cooking all three gourds in one dish but tha would bring it a new taste I guee

    Just using up all the goodies in the fridge, indosungod ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. vineela said

    Hi Linda,
    Yummy dal with pepper.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Vineela.

    Thanks Vineela — always happy to see you!

  5. Sushma said

    I loved the color of the veggie. You came up with a nice combination of lentils with veggies
    -Sushma
    http://www.sunkiran.com

    Thank you Sushma! I love all the gourds for their bright colors, too ๐Ÿ™‚

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

