Sunday Snacking

Karela Chips

Karela chips by way of Indira and Kay, with slightly modified seasoning.

Being a good student of Vaishali ;), I first salted the karela slices, and then pressed the liquid from them with a light weight (the one medium bitter gourd gave off about 1/2 c liquid after salting).

I did not have red chili-garlic powder, so I used a portion of the seasoning I had mixed up for Meena’s eggplant recipe: garam masala, red chili powder, and amchur powder.

Being a little hesitant about the bitter taste (I once had a chinese restaurant preparation of bitter gourd that scared me off this vegetable), I also added a teaspoon of garlic paste to the oil and seasonings.

I let the slices sit in this ‘marinade’ for a good half hour before broiling them in the toaster oven.

~~~

Meena's Baingan Fry

Meena’s Baingan Fry

For this eggplant recipe I soaked the eggplant slices overnight in salted water. My hope was that waterlogged eggplant wouldn’t soak up as much oil… not sure whether that theory proved out though πŸ˜‰

Other than that I followed Meena’s recipe exactly.

~~~

Bitter gourd is a bit of an acquired taste for me, but the seasoning was delicious and sliced thin and broiled crisp, I didn’t find it too bitter. The eggplant was rich and silky; a few slices of each made a very filling snack.

Thanks Meena, Indira, and Kay!

1 Comment »

  1. Vaishali said

    My Loyal Student Linda, you have excelled in the examination. Well done!! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰
    As my fees, I would like to receive a bowl full of those fried Karela chips. May this be done at the earliest!! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    Dear Vaishali, Esteemed Teacher/Guru… your tips are invaluable! As for the fees, I shall make my most valiant effort ASAP! πŸ˜‰

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

