My New Kitchen Toy and Rasam Powder

Ingredients for Rasam Powder

Ingredients for rasam powder, roasted, cooled, and ready to grind

~~~

I have a new toy. Browsing in Home Goods one day, I found this nifty little KitchenAid grinder for only $12. It’s larger than the coffee grinder I had pressed into service, but not so large that the tiny seeds and dals get lost when grinding. It’s also made of metal where the old one was plastic. I have been waiting for an excuse to use it and tonight I found one. A recipe I want to try tomorrow calls for rasam powder, and I don’t have any. Decided to try making some using whole spices.

I’m hoping I didn’t ruin this by altering it slightly (mostly reduced the amt of chilies). Original recipe is from Hermant Trivedi’s Cookery Corner.

Rasam Powder (made about 3/4 c)

4 large dried red chilies
1/4 c coriander seed
1 TB black peppercorns
1 TB chana dal
1 TB toor dal
1/2 TB urad dal
1 TB mustard seed
1 1/2 TB cumin seed
2 tsp methi/fenugreek seed
3 sprigs curry leaves (mine were drying out so I used more than called for, about 20 leaves or so)

asafoetida

Dry roast chilies, dals, and whole spices separately and set aside to cool. Dry roast curry leaves and remove them to cool, then add whole spices back into the pan and cover surface with asafoetida. Stir well over medium heat for a minute or two, then take out onto a plate to cool again.

When all is cool, pulse a few times in your new grinder until you have a fine powder. Admire the ease, the look, and the aroma of fresh
ground spices before sealing up in an airtight container.

~~~

Rasam Powder

Homemade rasam powder ~ mmmmmmmm 🙂

Leave a Reply

