Leftover Surprise #3 – Sambhar Pasta

Tadka

mustard seed, fresh garlic and curry leaves

~~~

I happen to love leftovers. I have been trying so many new recipes that I inevitably have a freezer full of little containers. Tonight I needed something quick and easy, so I took one out of the freezer and set it in the microwave to defrost. Its label was gone. Since my mind can be a pretty good sieve, without the label I had leftover surprise ~ my favorite!

When I spotted the carrots and bits of whole dal, I realized it was sambhar, from Mrs. Marthi’s recipe. At the time, I did not have the eggplant or drumsticks on hand, but I remembered using the whole dals in the tempering. I mixed it with pasta, baby spinach, and fresh seasoning. Not exactly innovative, but a quick and easy supper for a busy evening.

Sambhar Pasta

1 tsp ghee
1 healthy tsp minced fresh garlic
1 dried red chili
5-6 curry leaves
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp cumin seeds

1-2 cups baby spinach leaves

2 cups leftover sambhar, warmed
1/2 c small pasta, cooked to taste and drained (I used orzo)

In 4 qt pan, heat ghee and add the garlic, chili, curry leaves, mustard and cumin seeds. When mustard sizzles, add the spinach and allow it to wilt, stirring well.

Add drained pasta and warmed sambhar to the pot and stir well. Taste for seasoning, and allow to warm through.

Serve hot and enjoy ~ there is hardly a dish to wash after this supper.

Thanks Mrs. Marthi, for this delicious sambhar!

~~~

Sambhar Pasta

3 Comments »

  1. Luv2Cook said

    Linda:

    Great idea. I love using pastas with Indian gravies but never thought about using lentil based ones. You are innovative. I definitely know how I am going to use up MY leftovers!

  2. L.G said

    Now! thats what I call a real fusion cooking! You are giving me ideas!!! 🙂

  3. Hi L2C, thanks for stopping by. I don’t know how innovative but the pasta sure tasted good in that “sauce” 🙂

    LG, you and the others who answered “drumsticks and whistles” gave me some ideas, too. I am Drumstick Dreaming 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

