Stuffed Brinjals

I am so proud of this one! I needed a couple of tries to get the tiny eggplants stuffed without breaking but oh, was it worth the effort.

Actually, this was one of the first dishes I tried after I discovered all the wonderful blogs out there. I forgot I had the photos until I was clearing my camera last night, so thought I’d put them up. Back then, I was very excited to find the small green eggplants in a local store, along with many other new veggies.

~~~

Fresh Veggies

~~~

Recipe I followed was from Indira’s Mahanandi . As Indira mentioned in that post, I had to throw away more than half the brinjals due to age; the remaining fruit cooked up beautifully tender. I think the peanut-sesame stuffing would have had a better texture had I used a small spice grinder rather than the food processor – but it still tasted delicious!

~~~

stuffed brinjals

Stuffed Brinjals

Fairly obvious from the photo that I slipped a couple of times with the knife, cutting the eggplant. Ones that were not cut too deep spread open a little more as the stuffing was placed — definitely a job to do over a bowl to catch the extra that falls away.

stuffed brinjals cooking

Stuffed Brinjals Cooking

~~~

Yum!

6 Comments »

  1. Indira said

    Wow, Linda. They do look beautiful.
    Glad you tried and liked the recipe.
    More details please, about the cooking experience.:)
    Thanks.

  2. Luv2Cook said

    Those brinjals look great. I just love the way you are intimidated to try all the complicated Indian dishes :).

  3. Luv2Cook said

    well..make that “I just love the way you are NOT intimidated….”

  4. Thank you both — they were fun to make and delicious to eat!

    Luv2, did you bring back pictures of your getaway break? 🙂

  5. Luv2Cook said

    Well..Linda..I was off on a “spiritual retreat”. So even though I took my camera, even though we were away from real civilization and were sorrounded by great forests and beautiful scenary, I did not take ANY pictures. The camera just stayed in the trunk of the car all the time. It was a good retreat!

  6. Indira said

    Thanks Linda for adding more details.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

