New Rice with Chayote and Potato Stir Fry

sona masuri rice

~~~

When I cook, I like to use the most authentic ingredients I can find. Basmati rice was an easy one, of course, for my new Indian cupboard. But when I read about sona masuri rice on Indira’s blog, I really wanted to try it. I did manage to find it fairly easily ~ in a twenty pound bag! Happily we love rice in this house, and my son the rice connoisseur has declared this the best he’s ever tasted. If you haven’t tried it, do ~ it’s delicious.

A simple stir-fry I made to go with the new rice ~ chayote squash and potato, spiced up with chili pepper. I love chayote ~ a very mild squash that absorbs flavors wonderfully.

~~~

1 tsp oil or ghee
2 tsp ginger-garlic paste

1 medium potato, peeled and diced
1 small onion, chopped
1 green chili, slit

1/2 tsp turmeric
1 tsp red chili powder (or to taste)
salt to taste
pinch of garam masala (if desired)

tempering/tadka of:

1 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp mustard seeds
a few curry leaves
sauteed in small amount of ghee

~~~

Heat oil or ghee in shallow pan and saute the ginger-garlic paste for 1-2 minutes. Add onion and green chili. When onion softens, add potato, turmeric and chili powder. Sprinkle with salt, stir well and cook over medium heat about 5-10 minutes, until potato begins to lose its raw taste.

Add 1/4 cup water and chayote squash. Mix well and cook, covered, over medium heat a further 10 minutes, until chayote is soft and potatoes are cooked through. Add a sprinkle of garam masala if desired, stir once more and remove from heat.

Mix in the hot tadka and serve with freshly cooked rice.

~~~

potato with chayote and rice

3 Comments »

  1. Luv2Cook said

    Linda:

    That looks very good. I agree chayote is very adaptable to differnt flavors. I am VERY glad you bought the sona masuri :). You are supporting farmers in our state of Andhra Pradesh, India by doing so ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Indira said

    I too prepare a similar version of chayote-potato stir-fry. Love it.

    I am so glad to see that you tried and liked sona masure rice and thanks for the mention.

    The grain is small and thin but it has lot of integrity, won’t turn into mush that easily.:)
    I’d recommend the ‘sweet pongal’ recipe to try with this rice, Linda. Jaggery, rice, ghee and cashews, the combination is divine and very easy to prepare.

  3. Luv, thank you! The rice is disappearing fast ๐Ÿ™‚

    Indira, with all the reading I’ve done on your blog I would not be surprised if I got chayote-potato through osmosis. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I will take your advice and try the sweet pongal – I’ve had my eye on it for some time (one of the reasons I went looking for sona masuri).

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

