RP’s Maampazha Pulisseri

There are so many recipes from Indira’s elegant Jihva for Mango, I hardly knew where to begin. I had one half-ripe mango in the kitchen, so I decided to make RP’s delicious looking Maampazha Pulisseri.

I added fewer chilies, a little more cumin and more water than called for, but for the most part followed RP’s recipe as below:

semi-ripe mango, coconut, green chile, spices

1 c mango cubes cooked with about 3/4 c water and

1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp turmeric
1 slit green chile

Mashed mango mixture and added:

1/2 c dried grated coconut ground with 1 green chile and 1/4 tsp cumin seeds

Brought to boil, then stirred in 3/4 c yogurt. Lastly, added tempering/tadka of

1 tsp ghee
1/8 tsp fenugreek seeds
1/2 tsp cumin seeds
4-5 curry leaves
1 dried red chile pepper

Served it with rice ~ rich and scrumptious!!

Thanks RP, I’ll be having this for lunch all week.

Maampazha Pulisseri

4 Comments »

  1. Luv2cook said

    oo..that looks delicious…I have tried a couple of dishes from Indira’s mango event over the weekend. Need to blog about those!

  2. Hi luv, thanks! I’ll be looking for your mango posts 😉

  3. RP said

    Hmmm…You didn’t tell me.:( I just found out that you made this curry.(I followed the technorati links). Looks delicious. Good to know that you liked it. I am addicted to this curry. Do you know you can also make this with pineapples instead of mangoes ?

  4. Hi RP, I am glad you found the post at last! I am new to blogging so not sure what technorati is.

    Thank you for the wonderful recipe!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

