Leftover Surprise – or Diving into Indian Food

I’ve been on an Indian food kick for a few months. If it hadn’t been for my search for the ~perfect~ dal recipe, I wouldn’t know what a blog was. Who knew there were a million other food fanatics out there?!? I’ve read recipes, gazed at pics, bookmarked and shopped. Even bought two new cookbooks!

I’ve also been craving eggs. A dozen jumbo eggs for 99 cents at a local produce market was too good to pass up. I decided I was ready to venture out on my own and experiment – I wanted egg (you choose – masala, rassma, curry, kurma, korma…) “something”.

Suffice to say, I failed miserably (never mix old curry leaves with hard boiled eggs??). The egg whites were rinsed off and eaten with salt and pepper for supper, while the rest of the offending mixture went to the raccoons – they have to eat, too. 🙂

I’ll be following recipes awhile longer, I suspect. I still need practice, and a lot of it; many of these spices are new to me and in time I will learn the right combinations. Practice makes perfect, or at least edible! Nevertheless, I hate to fail, so onward and upward to the second experiment of the evening – “leftover surprise”. This dish, very simply spiced, tasted far better than the first.

~~~

Here is what I used:

1 tsp ghee
1 tsp cumin seeds

1 small potato, peeled and cut into very fine dice
2 healthy tsp garlic paste
1 c. leftover cooked (basmati) rice
1 tsp coriander chutney (from Indian grocery)
2 TB yogurt
1 tsp kosher salt
1-2 TB water (depending on the dryness of rice)

3-4 cups fresh baby spinach

~~~

And here is what I did:

Heat ghee in medium-sized pan, slowly toast cumin seeds. Add finely diced potato and garilc paste. Cook over medium heat 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add rice, coriander chutney, yogurt, salt, and the water only if needed. Reduce heat to low, cover and cook 5-10 minutes longer or until potatoes are nearly cooked through but retain a slight crunch.

Add baby spinach leaves, stir thoroughly. Cover and cook a further 5-10 minutes until spinach is wilted and all is hot.

Serve in a small bowl with a little fresh lime to sqeeze over – and if you’re me, you’ll pat yourself on the back for remembering that simple is often best!

leftover surprise

Many thanks to all the food bloggers I’ve been following for some time now and who have inspired me with their generous sharing of recipes, pictures, and stories. I will have links up soon, but for now special thanks to Arjuna, Indira, Nupur, and Shyamala, who have all unwittingly encouraged me to try cooking authentic Indian food in my own kitchen.

Special thanks also to Anthony for the most enjoyable weekly Curry Mela, to which I humbly submit this dish. What fun!

5 Comments »

  1. tony said

    Thanks for the netry to my curry mela…

    It would be nice if you can mention the same here on this post… 😉

  2. Anthony, thanks for reminding me — done! 🙂

  3. santhi said

    hmmmmm a neat recipe…
    Dont worry too much abt eggs not turning right…
    Indian cooking is not that very hard at all..:):):)

  4. Thank you santhi! I look at it as an adventure 🙂

  5. Luv2cook said

    WOW that looks delish. Just discovered you! I am adding you to my blog roll!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

