Vani’s Eating Better Challenge and Garden Update

Last week I passed by Mysoorean and saw that Vani had been reading my mind; she had embarked upon an Eating Better Challenge.

Here I am to join you Vani, and wishing you a Happy Blog Birthday! :)

Today, my breakfast was sabudana khichdi based on Nupur’s recipe. My lunch was the leftover palya from the Fasting Dosa Experiment (and seriously, no dosa from my kitchen need apply, the filling was better than the wrap!). I had both while manning the front desk of a lovely little hotel — the first day I was not tempted by the bagels and cream cheese served up for b’fast there! ;)

Tonight I am making ISG’s kollu paruppu chutney and rasam. This is so delicious that I routinely keep a quantity of the special rasam powder in my freezer :)

No photos of the above, as I worked late last night only to return first thing this morning. No rest for the weary in my new life! Tomorrow is a coveted day off so I can photograph at leisure; hopefully I will get some things prepared ahead to carry with me the rest of the week.

The little garden in the north woods is coming along in spite of cooler temps last week.

chard tomatillos 72713
chard and yellow tomatillos finally taking off ~ those are little carrot seedlings to the left!

little corn patch
the little corn patch towers over various pepper plants, with cherry tomatoes growing tall on the near side

cukes growing on teepees
cucumber vines climbing homemade teepees ~ poles beans to the right

lebanese zucchini
these lovely lebanese squash plants are among my favorite things in the garden ~ already bearing fruit but too small to pick…maybe tomorrow?! hopefully these are similar to the korean grey squash I grew so fond of ~ dear h-mart, please build a store in the north woods! :)

4 Comments »

  1. great garden

    thanks much

  2. Hi Linda! Thanks for dropping by on my blog. It’s a pleasure to see you back in action and growing veggies. I have been a reader of your blog for sometime now. That fasting mix is something new, I haven’t even seen it here in India but it sound really good. The dosa is a good idea and so healthy. May be a roti/ thalipeeth would also be good with it. Take care.

    Hi Anjali — thanks for stopping and for your kind comment :) I think I will try roti another time (I need alot of practice with that!). I wonder whether one could make bhatura with it… that’s what I am dreaming of lately :) All the best!

    • Oh if Rajgira puri are the norm, then this will make good bhaturas, you bet!

      Fabulous, thanks Anjali. That’s on my list but first I have to make some yogurt :)

  3. sra said

    Glad to see you’re settling down and your garden is growing well. Love those tiny carrot seedlings!

    thanks Sra… I hope they are doing as much below ground as above! ;)

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

