Farmer’s Market

O joy, O happy day!

We have a new farmer’s market, and I finally got to visit it this morning.
Compared with larger communities, I’m sure it’s small; for my neck of the woods, it’s fabulous.

There were only a few stands with veggies. Other offerings included fresh flowers, fresh baked goods, fresh fish and seafood, fresh *pet* food, and artisan cheeses.

I bought a log of Westfield Farm classic blue chevre.

My favorite vendor by far was Hmong Farms.

amaranth4_550A
beautiful green and purple-red amaranth for “Click ~ Bi-colour” at Jugalbandi

peatendrils2
and beautiful baby green pea tendrils for me!

farmersmarket2
produce from Hmong Farms

Closer to home, it begins to look more like summer in the deck-garden…

deck72509_crop
tomatoes on the deck

and the beans and ridge gourd are starting to climb.

beansridgegourd72509
long beans and ridge gourd

This is one of my favorite parts of the garden — watching the little climbing vines reach out and take hold!

ridgegourdcrop
miraculous!

And now it’s time to find something to do with the pea tendrils :)

7 Comments »

  1. bee said

    you lucky gal!!! that looks like a great farmer’s market. and your plants seem to love the weather.

  2. Nupur said

    Those greens look crisp and lush! The pea tendrils are adorable, I love their curls and ringlets.
    So what did you make with these? A big tasty salad? Or atop a light pasta?

  3. Mamatha said

    Linda, I saw your comment on Indira’s about making adais w/o rice. Absolutely! Infact, I made it with y’day w/ a mixture of channa, urad, masoor and moong dals and it turned out really good. Adai is such a forgiving recipe that I don’t even bother w/ the proportions anymore. I just thrown in the dals together and soak them in water before going to work. I grind them in the blender after I come back in the evening and the batter is good to go.

  4. Cynthia said

    Yeah!!!!!

  5. [...] Life, My Child and My Food Ice -Cream Stick @ My Explorations Zebra Cake @ Renus Kitchen amaranth @ Out Of The Garden Lemonade (blue & yellow) @ A Perspicuous Mind: musing about food Stuffed Purple Brinjals @ [...]

  6. mandira said

    Wow, you have fresh seafood in the farmer’s market. That’s amazing! And your plants look happy and healthy. :)

  7. [...] few weeks ago I got a lovely bunch of pea shoots at the new (woo-hoo!) farmer’s market. I cooked them very simply in a little olive oil, in [...]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

