Tofu Green Curry

ingredients for spice paste
fresh green chilies, shallots, garlic, ginger, curry leaves and fresh spices

Happy New Year to all you lovely bloggers!

Thank you for the wonderful holiday wishes in my last post — they made me feel happy and of course I wish you all the same. :)

Well, a few weeks away and didn’t realise how much I would miss sitting here rambling along about recipes. I have REALLY missed reading everyone else’s! I can see I will have alot of catching up to do — first reading, then cooking.

Over the holiday break I visited a friend and brought along some Thai curry from a local restaruant. It’s always delicious there, but I’m sure only good for a once-a-year splurge. Why not cook it at home, though? I could cut back on the fat that way. Last night I found myself thinking that thought until I could think it no more, and had to act.

I was lacking some of the traditional seasonings for a Thai curry, but I had plenty of Indian! So I gave it a whirl and got this surprisingly good sort of hybrid dish. It was even better today for lunch. A little late for Ashwini’s Jihva Round-up (wow, can’t wait to read that!) but it’s coconutty anyway ;)

Tofu Green Curry

1/2 block firm tofu, cubed
3-4 c mixed veggies of your choice
spice paste (below)
ground spices (below)
1 tsp oil or ghee
1 can light coconut milk
OR
1 2/3 c fresh coconut milk
small lump jaggery

Saute the tofu in Pam or a small amount of oil until lightly brown.

Wash and cut the veggies. I used potato, bottle gourd, and carrots (blanched in the microwave), with some frozen green peas for color. I also added some canned baby corn, just because I love it.

Make a paste of:

5-6 baby onions (shallots)
5-6 big green chilies, seeded
2 TB garlic paste
1 TB ginger paste
1 tsp salt
small handful curry leaves

Roast and grind:

1 TB coriander seeds
1 tsp cumin seeds
few black peppercorns

Add the roasted, ground spices to the paste.

bottle gourd, potato, carrots, peas and baby corn
veggies, tofu, and spice paste ready to go

Heat the oil or ghee in a medium saucepan. Add 2-3 TB spice paste and saute until fragrant. Add 3/4 of the can of coconut milk (I know, I know… fresh would be better but I’m on a diet and the canned is “lite” ;) ).

Stir gently and cook over medium heat a few minutes until the oil begins to rise. Add the rest of the coconut milk, the veggies and tofu. Cover, reduce heat a little and simmer about 15 minutes, until the veggies are tender but not mushy.

Remove the cover and crush a small lump of jaggery into the curry. If it is very thick, add a little water. Mix well and bring it all to a rolling boil — then turn off the heat and serve piping hot with plain rice.

tofu green curry
steaming hot tofu green curry!

Recipe modified from Temple Of Thai site.

Also check out Krithika’s Vegetarian Thai Green Curry which looks so delicious!

9 Comments »

  1. Vini K said

    Hi Linda,let me say first,that photos are simply great!the veggies look soo fresh and inviting.Nice curry using tofu.Love thai food soo much I almost survived on it the whole of my pregnancy!

    Hi Vini, and thanks :) I love Thai too, but didn’t discover it till after my kids were older. They won’t touch it. More for us! ;)

  2. Asha said

    Welcome back Linda.I specially made Pearl Onion Theeyal for you in my last post! It’s good to see you back in action.Thai curry looks great.Enjoy.

    Thanks Asha! I saw your yummy Theeyal! Left you a note about it in your comment to my previous post :)

  3. indosungod said

    Linda, welcome back, Tofu Green Curry looks good canbe a meal by itself and it will be great for my new carb cutting resolution. You alwasy amaze me with your freedom of combination of veggies, I don’t add bottle gourd with carrots or peas but can’t think why not.
    Thanks for the Michigan Waterfalls links wondeful, my next visit perhaps??

    Thanks, ISG! I’m wrestling with a similar resolution myself :) I had that bottle gourd leftover from before Christmas — amazing staying power that veggie has. It’s time for a trip to the Indian store as I’m out of most all veggies now. Hope you get to see some of those waterfalls someday!

  4. Krithika said

    Happy new year Linda ! Curry looks delicious and thanks for the link.

    Same to you, Krithika! Your curry looks super-great :)

  5. Nidhi said

    Nice recipe Linda… I am here for the first time and I really liked your blog.

    Happy New Year.

    Glad you visited, Nidhi! Happy new year to you as well :)

  6. sailaja said

    Nice to see you back with a wonderful green curry, Linda.

    Your comment got thru on my blog and thanks so much for your wishes. Wish you and your family a very happy new year, Linda and hope to see more mouth-watering recipes in 2007..:)

    Thank you Sailaja — looking forward to cooking up more of yours! :)

  7. shaheen said

    Wowo! I had tried krithika’s curry and ;liked it. Next time will make it ur way. nice to see u back.

    Thanks Shaheen — this is not as spicy as authentic Thai and was better for sitting a day or two :)

  8. Lera said

    Wow! Linda nice to see you back in action with your delicious green curry :) I will definitely try this recipe,thanks for sharing !

    Happy New year to you and your Loved ones :))

    The very same to you Lera, thank you! :)

  9. Revathi said

    Hi Linda
    First time visitor to your blog.. AMAZING love for indian food u have. i am truly awestruck at your attempts at indian food especially recipes like muruku that are “deemed difficult” – Wow Wow Wow !!! Amazing..
    Good luck !! And a Happy happy new year !!

    Hi Revathi, so glad you came by and thanks for your kind words. It’s true, I do love Indian food. My attempts are always fun, if not always successful. I got lots of great advice regarding those murukus! Now I’m off to visit your blog… Happy New Year to you as well! :)

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

